Log in

Wheat Allergy

If you have a Gluten or Wheat Allergy, you will find below some helpful tips to substitute while baking and a list of foods to avoid while reading labels.

How To Substitute For Wheat Flour:

http://forum.lowcarber.org/archive/index.php/t-214051.html
To make a standard recipe free of white flour, substitute one of the follow:

1- 3/8 cups barley flour for 1 cup white flour
1 cup corn flour for 1 cup white flour
7/8 cup corn meal for each cup white flour
3/8 cup potato flour for 1 cup of white flour
7/8 cup rice flour for each cup of white flour
1 cup rye meal for 1 cup white flour
1-1/2 cups ground rolled oats or 1 cup oat flour for 1 cup white flour
1 cup whole wheat flour for 1 cup white flour.
1 cup of wheat flour equals…
7/8 cup amaranth
7/8 cup garbanzo bean
7/8 cup chickpea (garbanzo)
3/4 cup corn flour
1 cup cornmeal
3/4 cup millet flour
3/4 cup oat flour
5/8 cup potato flour
3/4 cup potato starch
7/8 cup rice flour
3/4 cup soy flour

Important – Always use a double portion of baking powder with dark flour. Recipes when converting a white flour recipe to a dark flour. Average use is 2.5 tsp. baking powder to each cut of flour.

Substitution of various flour for white flour recipes gives new and exciting flavors. Corn flour thickens sauces better than cornstarch and may be used in the same proportions as white flour. It also combines well with other flours in making muffins.

Liquid Aminos – healthy alternative to soy sauce – (contains soy, but gluten free)

Ingredients to avoid while Label Reading:

Courtesy of WebMD

Barley (flakes, flour, pearl)
Breading and bread stuffing
Brewer’s yeast
Bulgur
Durum (type of wheat)
Farro/Faro (also known as spelt)
Graham flour
Hydrolyzed wheat protein
Kamut (a type of wheat)
Malt, malt extract, malt syrup, and malt flavoring
Malt vinegar
Malted milk
Matzoh, matzoh meal
Modified wheat starch
Oatmeal, oat bran, oat flour, and whole oats (unless they are from pure, uncontaminated oats)
Rye bread and flour
Seitan (A meat-like food derived from wheat gluten used in many vegetarian dishes)
Semolina
Spelt (A type of wheat also known as farro or faro, dinkel)
Triticale
Wheat bran
Wheat flour
Wheat germ
Wheat starch
These other ingredients may be less familiar to you, but they also contain gluten:
Atta (chapati flour)
Dinkel (also known as spelt, a type of wheat)
Einkorn (type of wheat)
Emmer (type of wheat)
Farina
Fu (a dried gluten product made from wheat and used in some Asian dishes)
Beer, ale, lager
Broth, soup, soup bases
Cereals
Some chocolates, some chocolate bars, and licorice
Flavored coffees and teas
Imitation bacon bits and imitation seafoods
Medications (check with your pharmacist)
Pastas
Rice
Salad dressings
Sausages, hot dogs, deli meats
Sauces, marinades, gravies
Seasonings
Soy sauce

Posted in wheat